top of page
Search
  • Eva Webb

What is Critical Thinking and Why does it Count?

Updated: Aug 18, 2020

After reading "What is Critical Thinking and Why does it Count? by Peter Facione, there is a quote that sticks out in my mind. Facione states, "Becoming educated and practicing good judgment does not absolutely guarantee a life of happiness, virtue, or economic success, but it surely offers a better chance at those things." I reflect on this thought a lot. Right out of high school, I was able to obtain a really good job without a formal education. A college education was not as necessary then as it is now.


Over the past few years, I started taking college classes again after many years without. I have had a happy life, virtue and some economic success. Education, however, has opened my eyes to so much more. The broadening of my mind shows me what I have been missing. The critical thinking involved with higher education definitely helps one practice good judgment.


What is critical thinking? According to ePortfolio Thinking, critical thinking is triggered by a question or problem that is encountered in life. The Association of American Colleges and Universities (AACU) considers critical thinking as a practice and an attitude. So as with any thing worthwhile, critical thinking can be mastered with practice. This encourages me, as I believe that I am just now learning to be a critical thinker. Facione also states that, "critical thinking is thinking that has a purpose (proving a point, interpreting what something means, solving a problem), but critical thinking can be a collaborative, noncompetitive endeavor." I love this thought of collaboration rather than competition. Couldn't we use more collaboration in the world to solve problems?


What are some of the qualities that a strong critical thinker must possess? According to "What is Critical Thinking and Why Does It Count" by Peter Facione, these are the core of critical thinking: interpretation, analysis, evaluation, inference, explanation, and self-regulation. As a supervisor, this look into critical thinking has not only helped me analyze myself, but helps me understand others who I supervise. Someone that is a critical thinker may say, "I always do better in jobs where I'm expected to think things out for myself.” Verses someone who may not be a critical thinker who says, “I prefer jobs where the supervisor says exactly what to do and exactly how to do it." Critical thinking is more important to my daily life than what I thought.


I want to continue to grow in my ability to think critically as I expand my knowledge and further my education. How very liberating is the ability to think for oneself? To become a contributing member of society, by using my critical thinking skills to no longer be dependent on others to think for me, but to discern, and have the ability to collaborate with others to work towards a common goal.

17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Interdisciplinary Project - Jonestown

I am choosing the topic of Jonestown. This was a religious group that was actually a highly regarded, progressive church. I always wondered when seeing cults develop, why someone would willingly fol

Core Skills and Program Outcomes Reflections Process

The process of writing my reflections has been quite difficult for me. As I started sifting through my work to select just the right artifacts for my ePortfolio, I was stumped. Where do I start? I

bottom of page