top of page
Search
  • Eva Webb

Core Skills and Program Outcomes Reflections Process

The process of writing my reflections has been quite difficult for me. As I started sifting through my work to select just the right artifacts for my ePortfolio, I was stumped. Where do I start? I reached out to my instructor for help right away. I have found through my education at South Piedmont Community College, that this is always the best route. It has been my experience that everyone wants me to be successful. That is not always the way life is, especially in a career, so that was refreshing to me.


After communicating with my instructor and getting some great feedback and suggestions, I started selecting my artifacts. As I began to reflect on my work, I read each artifact hoping to be reminded of what was going on during that time. The time spent in each curriculum (most of them anyway) began to flood back. The struggles, the obstacles that I overcame, the good and the bad. I am so proud of where I have arrived. I didn't know that I could do this. I can still remember showing up at the school to take my placement tests. I asked the facilitator at the time if I was the oldest student she had seen that day. She was so encouraging! But I did it, and I did so well!


How do I write these reflections? I know what I need to do, but I can't get the words to flow. I reached out to my team, and we talked together about our struggles. This was encouraging. Not that everyone was struggling, but that I am not alone. I began to look again at my artifacts along with my goals. I realized that some of my goals need to be adjusted. So I am diligently working to determine what really are my goals with each of the core skills and program outcomes, and have I accomplished them? I can say that I have. I have grown more than I thought possible.


One of the hardest things I have had to do, was teach myself math. I know that this sounds comical, but you see, I never had a TI-84 calculator or learned to use one. My first class back to college in my forties, was pre-calculus, online, might I add. What was I thinking? I was paralyzed as I sat at my kitchen table, looking at quadratic equations. I actually remember working for hours on one problem, to be told later by my professor that my calculator can do the problem for me. I did not give up. I wanted to give up, but I didn't. Quitting is easy. Why do I need a degree? I don't as much need the degree as I want the degree! And I have earned it with hard work and perseverance.


When looking at my Communication Competence and Oral Communications, I remember being terrified. I did not want to take this course. The thought of having to speak in front of others, terrified me. When almost time to give my first speech, even though I was well prepared, I felt my throat getting dry, and my knees beginning to knock, as I watched it getting closer and closer to my turn. After I finished, I realized that everyone was in the same boat. And the entire class was so supportive. What a relief. That made the next speech easier and I grew in my abilities each speech given.


I thought that getting my Associates Degree would be enough for me. But I don't want to stop. I am smarter than I give myself credit, and I can do so much more. Looking back at my artifacts, all that I have accomplished, I am a success. I am very proud of myself. So onward I go! Excited for the next chapter in my college career!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Interdisciplinary Project - Jonestown

I am choosing the topic of Jonestown. This was a religious group that was actually a highly regarded, progressive church. I always wondered when seeing cults develop, why someone would willingly fol

What is Critical Thinking and Why does it Count?

After reading "What is Critical Thinking and Why does it Count? by Peter Facione, there is a quote that sticks out in my mind. Facione states, "Becoming educated and practicing good judgment does not

bottom of page