top of page
Search
  • Eva Webb

Interdisciplinary Project - Jonestown


I am choosing the topic of Jonestown. This was a religious group that was actually a highly regarded, progressive church. I always wondered when seeing cults develop, why someone would willingly follow someone like this? Is the leader so charismatic that people are drawn to them, or are the followers looking for something in their lives that this leader fulfills?


This is interesting to me because after looking through the options available for this project, I came across the saying "Don't drink the Kool-aid". I had heard that before, but never knew what it meant in this context. I began to read through the research provided. I began to ready about the mass murder. The death of 900 men, women and children. How the leader Jim Jones, convinced mothers to murder their own children. How? Why? I do not understand.


There are a few disciplines that I feel would be a good fit for this topic. Of course, the religious discipline would be obvious. This is a prominent religious organization, that was developed to focus on those in need. There is also a historical discipline that could be explored. There are many different directions that you could take the research on this topic. So much to explore.


What would make someone follow a leader like this even unto their death? Were they prisoners? Or were they willing subjects? Looking at the photos of the many bodies I can't help but think of my children. I would do anything for them. I don't understand how a mother could take the life of their children. Is there anyone that could convince me otherwise? I say no, so what would make them do this?

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Core Skills and Program Outcomes Reflections Process

The process of writing my reflections has been quite difficult for me. As I started sifting through my work to select just the right artifacts for my ePortfolio, I was stumped. Where do I start? I

What is Critical Thinking and Why does it Count?

After reading "What is Critical Thinking and Why does it Count? by Peter Facione, there is a quote that sticks out in my mind. Facione states, "Becoming educated and practicing good judgment does not

bottom of page