top of page
Search
  • Eva Webb

Artifact Selection and Goal Writing for Core Skills and Program Outcomes

Artifact selection was difficult for me. I transferred a lot of credit hours from my course work that I completed at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte many years ago. These classes included many of the courses such as English, Psychology, Sociology and others that shows much of my work. As I looked through my work that I have completed at South Piedmont Community College, I realized that I have completed some important work and I have learned more that what I had anticipated. This revelation has taken a little of the worry away.


For Core Skills, Written Communication I have selected my finished e-Portfolio because I feel that it is a strong representation of my written communication skills that I have obtained throughout my college career. For Oral Communications, I selected an informative speech "The Benefits of Therapy Dogs with Veterans". This was a topic that was important to me because I have a brother, who is a Veteran with PTSD and a niece who trains therapy dogs. It is a topic that is relevant. It was easy to follow and logical in presentation. The visual support followed the presentation well. For Cultural Literacy, I selected a paper completed in Spanish II, "Access to Healthcare in Honduras". I am choosing this because it helped me to see the world through different perspectives and helped me to learn to embrace similarities and differences of different cultures. For Technology, I have selected my e-Portfolio that was started in College Transfer Success. I feel that it helped to teach me basic computer operations as well as helped me to create a website about myself. For Critical thinking, I have selected Biology , Microevolution Lab, Data Sheets and Conclusion. This artifact shows that I have learned to interpret information and create hypothesis. I also learned to make decisions based on what I have read.


For my Program Outcomes, in Communication Competence, I selected a persuasive speech completed in Public Speaking, "Students Should Be Required to Learn a Musical Instrument". It showcases my ability to not only relay my thoughts through speech, but to create a PowerPoint presentation to be persuasive to my audience. Creative Problem Solving artifact chosen is The Assessment Assignment Amos Moving Company from Accounting 120. I chose this artifact because it shows my ability to demonstrate a thorough understanding of the problem, identify any additional information to reach a workable solution. For Information and Media Literacy, I selected my e-Portfolio from College Transfer Success because it shows my ability to find appropriate media to build a website about myself. For the Social Scientific Literacy, I am selecting "White Bear Position Defense" from Ethics 240. It shows my ability to understand human relationships, human actions and the ability to communicate the consequences of human actions. Understanding the Arts and the Human Experience, I have selected Critical Thinking e-Portfolio as my artifact.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Interdisciplinary Project - Jonestown

I am choosing the topic of Jonestown. This was a religious group that was actually a highly regarded, progressive church. I always wondered when seeing cults develop, why someone would willingly fol

Core Skills and Program Outcomes Reflections Process

The process of writing my reflections has been quite difficult for me. As I started sifting through my work to select just the right artifacts for my ePortfolio, I was stumped. Where do I start? I

What is Critical Thinking and Why does it Count?

After reading "What is Critical Thinking and Why does it Count? by Peter Facione, there is a quote that sticks out in my mind. Facione states, "Becoming educated and practicing good judgment does not

bottom of page